Man! I feel like a woman! ;)

international_woman__s_day_by_tragic_ballerina-d3b67y9

PC: http://www.deviantart.com/art/International-Woman-s-Day-200164545

Ladies.. and gents, let me start out with the obvious – Happy International Woman’s day everyone!! Man, isn’t it a great day to be a woman?!! (see what I did there.. see it, see it?) lol Yes yes I know, womanhood shouldn’t just be celebrated just one day.. BUT since we have this day designated for it, why not give it a recognition? I do have to admit though, today was just like any other day but with gazillions of posts about women empowerment posted by people in social medias and Frida Kahlo/ Rosa Parks/ Marie Curie snapchat filters added here and there.

I have read so many beautiful posts from great men and women talking about all the struggles we face as woman and what we have achieved so far and it is wonderful to read those. However, I have decided to talk about small things in life that we can get away with for the only reason – being woman. What is so great about being a woman then? To each it’s own and I am going to share mine. If you know me personally, you would know I am your borderline girly-girl. I LOVE the fact that I can have my desk at work decorated unapologetically pink without being judged for it (hopefully). Yes, women are stereotyped for loving pink but my love for the color started before I was introduced to the stereotype. Growing up back home, there was no trend of buying pink/blue stuff for new-borns based on their gender. I may have even witnessed little boys wrapped in pink blankies and little girls in blue. Oh and I also love the fact that I can get away with saying words like “blankie”.

Growing up when the boys would be asked to turn into “kukhura” (putting your head between your knees while standing and holding your ears) as punishment for being naughty at school, girls would get let off the hook with a warning or two. I mean how awesome is that?! One minute you are treated with such sensitivity like a fragile flower and the next there are plans being made to marry you off with strangers.. because you can handle it?! Okay, this is a hornets nest I will poke some other day as I clearly started out saying I will embrace the positives. lol I also enjoyed the fact that “girl problems” could be used as excuse to miss PEs and assemblies in school and till date “cramps” can be used as an excuse to miss any unwanted social gatherings. 😉 Real cramps – not at all enjoyable!!!

Then comes the fun part – clothes, shoes, shopping, make up, girls day/night out, manicure sesh, spa day…… There is one thing that I can do any given day no matter how tired, broken, or broke I am: shopping! It legit cures everything. Given the fact that I love shopping so much, I hate shopping for men. If I ever have to buy gift for a guy, I push it until last min and buy anything that I can find in the last 5 mins before store closes. lol It is a super hard task. On the other hand, shopping for women is super easy. Myriad of colors, items, and selections. Oh and I can never imagine this life without being able to wear lipstick, so amen to that!

In my opinion, a woman adds color to a man’s life. With a woman entering their life, cushions get added on the couch, matching dinnerware replaces unmatched cups and plates, toilet seats are set down (that’s a bonus), brunches & mimosas are introduced, all-in-one shampoo/conditioner/body wash is replaced by separate bottles, wall hangings turn bright and colorful, all shades of red,s blues and greens replaces the blacks and grays in the house, and so much more that I could write a book about it. I enjoy every little tiny detail in life that makes me a woman. Maybe I allow myself to get stereotyped too much or maybe we have turned every little things to be negatively stereo-typed, who knows?Anywho, I know there is a LOT more things that are wonderful about being a woman but I decided to focus on tiny little things today. Those things that may not be as significant or may be too much stereo-typed, but at the end of the day some things to cherish about.Oh and the best one saved for the last – There is no International Mans Day!!! 😉

Leave a Reply

